My Beautiful Little Boy

born a son, raised as himself

Nothing to Hide

on April 5, 2012

Image

Since I started this blog two weeks ago, I’ve gotten a lot of supportive comments. Thank you all so much for them. However, I’ve also gotten a lot of people telling me that I’m living in some kind of fairy tale and some how I don’t know how reality works. Really? As if I’m not the one dealing with the reality of gender confusion every day! 

I guess I’m not surprised. People are afraid of things that are different. Some people have suggested that I limit H’s cross dressing to the home. I know they have the best interest of H in mind, but honestly, what does it teach him if I say this part of him needs to be hidden? It teaches him that there is something wrong when in fact there is nothing wrong with a boy wanting to express his feminine side. In fact, I’ve recently done the opposite.

In the past, as we were getting ready to go to the park or the store, I would lightly suggest to H that he might want to change. As he gets older however, I see the reluctance in him and have decided if this is who he wants to be, this is who I’ll let him be. And I can tell you from first hand experience, he’s much happier. 

Image

A sunny day in the park

H has no problem playing with other children and they seem to have no problem playing with him. When we went to the park this weekend so H could play with his new roller skates, I noticed most of the kids assumed he was a girl. The girls played with him willingly and he was fine with that. He enjoys playing with girls. But he also enjoys playing with boys. 

There was one boy that initially didn’t want to play with H, because in his words, he didn’t play with girls. When H informed him that he was a boy, I grew tense. The other boy looked confused, but then sort of shrugged. He and H played just fine after that. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not naive enough to assume H won’t run into any problems in his life. But if he has confidence in who he is, then I’m hopefully he’ll overcome the obstacles in his way. 

Image

H trying out his skates. He picked them out himself.

2 responses to “Nothing to Hide

  1. Kira says:

    There will always be someone who is going to disagree with whatever decisions you make regarding your child. I might point out that many of these same people don’t have children of their own, but seem to think they are experts anyway because they read something in a book, an opinion page, or somewhere online.
    I say forget those people, they don’t know you and they don’t know your child. They might disagree but they can keep their opinions to themselves.
    Only you and your son know what is best for you and for him and that is all that matters.

    Best wishes,
    Kira

  2. nancy0312 says:

    You are doing a wonderful job of raising your child. Your love, support and acceptance will ensure that your child will grow to become a happy adult.
    All the Best to You and Your Family!

Leave a Reply

